What does FIFA Stand for?

It is safe to say that in some countries, especially in Europe, soccer or football is almost as important as food. Many countries all over the world are avid fans of the game soccer. A soccer game is played by two opposing teams. In a professional tournament, each team has 11 players (including 1 goalie). A soccer game also consists of many rules; however, its main objective in order to win is to try and score as many goals as possible. Because of its great fun and excitement, many schools and colleges do have soccer small events and tournaments. This is one way for the school to train young individuals in competing in professional tournaments in the future. And one of the most popular worldwide soccer events is none other than the FIFA World Cup.

What is FIFA World Cup? FIFA World Cup or otherwise known as Football World Cup is an international soccer competition between the national teams that are recognized as members of FIFA. What does FIFA stand for? FIFA in French means Fédération Internationale de Football Association and in Spanish it means Federación Internacional de Fútbol Asociado. If translated in English, FIFA basically means the International federation of Football Association. This is football’s global governing body. It is like the worldwide council of all participating countries in the world.

Just like Olympics, the FIFA World Cup also occurs once in every four years. Its pilot tournament occurred 80 years ago in the year 1930. This was won by the host country Uruguay. The World Cup, nevertheless, was postponed during the years 1942 and 1946 due to the World War II fiasco. As of now, there are already 32 national teams competing for the title. Its latest tournament only occurred this year in the city of Johannesburg, South Africa. The current champion is the soccer team from Spain followed by the Netherlands, Germany and Uruguay. In FIFA history, the country which won the most titles is Brazil with 5 World Cup championships to brag. This is then followed by Germany with three titles followed by Uruguay and Argentina with two apiece. The countries Spain, France and England have each won a world cup title.

The FIFA World Cup is considered one of the most prestigious events in world sports history. Over 700 million people watched the 2006 tournament in Germany which was won by Italy. Even though the World Cup tournament has just ended this year, many people can’t wait for the next championship to come which will happen in the year 2014.

Leave A Comment...